ZIGGURAT CHALLENGE

The Ziggurat Challenge is a ‘recreational-level’ programme of events open to all students, alumni, staff and faculty of the University including those based at the Norwich Research Park. The programme has been designed to promote enjoyable participation in the spirit of sporting competition as well as encourage friendly interaction/rivalry between schools.

ZIGGURAT CHALLENGE

The Ziggurat Challenge is a ‘recreational-level’ programme of events open to all students, alumni, staff and faculty of the University including those based at the Norwich Research Park. The programme has been designed to promote enjoyable participation in the spirit of sporting competition as well as encourage friendly interaction/rivalry between schools.

Who can take part?

Any student, alumni, member of staff or faculty, (including Norwich Research Park based staff) can compete in the Ziggurat Challenge.

What’s more it’s free! You can take part in, or spectate at, every event this year and pay absolutely nothing (*60p entry to the Sportspark without an activated campus card) We value your participation more than your money, so no excuses, just turn up and join in.
…and no matter how limited you may think your experience of a sport is, you can still give it a go and be in with a chance of winning valuable points for your school.

What sports does it involve?

20 different sporting events including: Fun Run/stroll around the lake, walking football, table-tennis, ultimate frisbee, badminton, and inclusive zone basketball (wheelchair IZB) all before Christmas, and in Semester 2: swimming, dodgeball, Netball and a sports day. Plus many more!

All sports are for teams of both men & women.

This year we are adding some new events to the Ziggurat challenge including bowling and quidditch!

How can I take part?

Click on the academic activators link below to find out who to contact to get involved with your school.

Academic Activators

2019 Timetable

Date Time Event Location
Wednesday 9th October 2019 13:00-13:30 Cross Country race / Stroll around the broad The UEA Broad
Tuesday 15th October 2019 17:00-19:00 Inclusive Zone Basketball (Wheelchair IZB) Sportspark Halls 4&5
Wednesday 23rd October 2019 14:00-16:00 Orienteering Challenge UEA Campus- meet at Sportspark Cringleford Room
Tuesday 29th October 2019 17:00-19:30 Badminton Sportspark Halls 4&5
Tuesday 5th November 2019 17:00-19:30 Walking Football Sportspark Halls 4&5
Tuesday 12th November 2019 17:00-19:30 Ultimate Frisbee Sportspark Halls 4&5
Tuesday 19th November 2019 17:00-19:30 Boccia Sportspark Halls 4&5
Tuesday 26th November 2019 17:00-19:30 Table Tennis & Short Tennis Sportspark Halls 4&5
Tuesday 3rd December 2019 17:00-19:30 Battleground Archery Sportspark Halls 4&5
Tuesday 1st January 2020 17:30-19:00 A Question of Sport Sportspark- The Kiff
Wednesday 22nd January 2020 13:00-15:00 Swimathon Sportspark Pool
Tuesday 28th January 2020 17:00-19:30 Dodgeball Sportspark Halls 4&5
Tuesday 4th February 2020 17:00-19:30 Netball Sportspark Halls 4&5
Tuesday 11th February 2020 17:00-19:30 Summer Fair Games Sportspark Hall 4
Tuesday 25th February 2020 17:00-19:30 Volleyball Sportspark Halls 4&5
Wednesday 4th March 2020 13:00-15:00 Ten Pin Bowling Nanco Funscape Bowthorpe
Tuesday 10th March 2020 17:00-19:30 Muggle Quidditch Sportspark Astro 2 (D, E, F)
Wednesday 18th March 2020 14:00-16:00 Sports' Day Sportspark Athletics Track